Twilight Wedding Cake Miniature Replica

Aside from my jewelry business, I run a miniatures hobby shop on the side. One of my specialties is custom miniature wedding cake replicas. These cakes are made in 1/12th scale (1 foot in real life = 1 inch in miniature) and always bring a new challenge. After all, each bride and groom have a unique cake at their wedding, right?

Recently, I received my most complex cake request so far – a miniature replica of Edward and Bella’s wedding cake from the Twilight movie. Not having seen the film, I wasn’t entirely sure what this project would involve until the customer sent me the photo – oh my! This was one of the most elaborate cakes I had seen in a very long time.

Not one to turn down a challenge, I said Yes! The original cake was approximately 5-feet tall; the miniature is just under 5-inches. Here’s the side-by-side comparison:

 

Here’s a couple of work-in-progress photos…

 

And the finished cake…..

 

The floral detail on the cake is filled with cream colored roses, white sweet peas, and green viburnum.

 

close-up of the top detail

 

close-up of the bottom detail

 

Whew! That was certainly a lot of work, but I am very happy with the finished result, and so is my customer. If you’re curious to see other cakes I’ve made, you can visit my miniatures shop here: http://dollhousedelights.etsy.com and click on the “sold items” to see the photos.

Leave a Reply

