Personalized Constellation Cuff Bracelet (with glow-in-the-dark stars!)

Oh, hello..yes, I am still on the constellation kick. I can’t help it – sometimes my mind is swirling with ideas and I just have to get them all made and physically held in my hands before I can move on to the next project.

These bracelets were one of those ideas where I was thinking about them one afternoon, and suddenly found myself at the art store the next day to pick up the final pieces needed to get started. (In this case, it was glow-in-the-dark paint….)

 

 

I found myself spending the entire afternoon happily painting away. For some reason, painting puts me back into the memories of my grade school days. Perhaps I just never allowed myself the time to enjoy it as an adult.

 

I swirled around the colors and created a painted palette of deep dark black, indigo and violet night sky on the cuff, accented with teeny tiny stars, meteor showers, and of course – the focal point – constellations. (That glow!) The longer I painted, the more happy I became about this piece. As a designer, sometimes something just “clicks” and you know it’s going to be a great piece. Halfway through completion, I started sending picture messages to my friends with accompanying notes such as “Aah! So excited about this cuff!” I couldn’t help it – these turned out even better than I’d originally been anticipating! Here is one of the finished pieces…

 

 

The first completed cuff featured the Ursa Major (Big Dipper) constellation. I painted a few more bracelets, but left a space in the center to add a custom constellation of your choice. After the constellation is chosen, I then follow a finishing process of sealing and protecting the cuff with three layers of various sealants, and a felt lining.

 

 

I added a special embroidered detail into the inside of this one.. (the initials of the couple who’s zodiac signs were represented on the front)…

 

 

Here’s a photo of how the bracelet looks in the dark…

 

 

Pretty awesome, right? These bracelets are available in my Etsy shop, https://www.etsy.com/listing/104265444/personalized-constellation-cuff-bracelet You can choose from any of the zodiac signs, Ursa Major, or if you have another choice just let me know! (I’ve already made one with Orion for a customer’s request.) These make great gifts for your friends, or something special for yourself.. perhaps the constellations representing yourself and a loved one?

Leave a Reply

