From Boston to San Francisco..

Have you left your heart in San Francisco? Or perhaps another city across the globe?

This morning I listed two new map locket necklaces – San Francisco and Boston – which got me thinking about my past California travels and the road I took to get here. I felt like sharing a little bit of my history with you, so here it is!

 

Image

San Francisco Map Heart Locket Necklace

Boston Map Large Locket Necklace

I think it’s safe to say I left my heart in San Francisco, and came back to recover it years later. As a young child growing up in New Hampshire, I’d been out to the California bay area a couple times to visit our grandmother in Santa Cruz and aunts/uncles around the bay. This was always a big adventure, as we had to travel over 3000 miles to get there! One of my favorite memories was the year my older sister and I flew to visit grandma by ourselves..  With multiple packs of bubble tape in tow, we kept ourselves amused on the long flight across the country. I still remember when we landed at the terminal, and saw Grandma come running to us with outstretched arms!

My big sister and I, visiting Santa Cruz in 1990. (Before our younger brother was born!)

Many years later, I visited California with my sweetheart, and my love for California continued to grow. We spent 10 days traveling from the north San Francisco bay all the way down to LA.

Here I am visiting the Embarcadero in San Francisco on our adventure… very windy, but very happy! (2004)

It’s impossible to not fall in love with California’s giant Redwood trees. (2004)

On our return flight home, I think we knew in our hearts we’d end up back here eventually…

 

.. and we did!

In February of 2008, we packed up our apartment in the suburbs of Boston, and began our true journey to California. We drove across the country with all of our belongings in tow, and officially became California residents. I still can’t believe we have lived here 4 years already. It has definitely been adventure, but those stories will have to be shared in future posts!

Your home may be in one place, but where is your heart?

Leave a Reply

